BOG Meeting Minutes — September 10, 2008

Print This Post Print This Post

1. Minutes. The minutes of September 3, 2008, were approved.

2. CREA Scholarships Awarded. President Roth reported that both applicants had been awarded scholarships.

3. CREA President’s Meeting with the Director. President Roth covered points he would raise with the Director in a meeting scheduled for later in the day: CREA coordination with Charlotte Preece on the development of Senior Specialist position descriptions; allowances for working from home under the new part-time policy; and funding for staff training denoted in Individual Development Plans.

4. Announcement of the New CREA Website. Governor Moteff said a colleague had suggested that the site include a welcome to visitors. Postings, as discussed, should be appropriately vetted and in conformance with Board expectations, but not unduly delayed. The site will serve as the primary method of communication with staff, but minimal use of e-mail announcements with site links are planned. A simple announcement will be made in coming days.

5. CREA Office Support in the Future. Discussion ensued. The Board reached preliminary agreement on reducing office support hours or coming up with support staff tasks designed to enhance institutional knowledge among members. President Roth said he would supply time sheets so that his activities could be compiled. Discussion is to be continued.

6. Poling Award for Mort Rosenberg. Governor Burrows moved that Mr. Rosenberg receive a Poling Award in recognition of decades of service and legal expertise on behalf of CRS employees. Treasurer Siskin requested that the motion include a budget allocation of $500. Governor Ester seconded. The vote in favor was unanimous. Suggestions for a tribute to his legacy included archived CREAtivity photos and a statement of appreciation written by Jack Maskell.

7. Guest Speaker at the CREA Annual Meeting. President Roth said IFPTE’s Matt Biggs would invite Representative Donna Edwards to speak.

8. GS-15 Pay Cap Legislation for CRS Staff.President Roth said a staff member of the House Administration Committee would speak to Chairman Brady in favor or raising the GS-15 Step 10 pay cap from the equivalent of Executive Level 3 to Executive Level 4.

Meeting adjourned at 1 p.m.


Vanessa Burrows
Beverly Campbell
Karma Ester
Jack Moteff
Brian Reeder
Dennis Roth
Bryan Sinquefield
Alison Siskin
Pauline Smale
David Smole
Mallary Stouffer
Zina Watkins