BOG Meeting Minutes — May 20, 2009

Print This Post Print This Post

1. Minutes. The minutes of May 13, 2009, were accepted.

2. Treasurer Announcement. Treasurer Siskin announced that she will step down at the end of June and asked the Board to seek candidates for the position. After brief discussion, she agreed that a new Treasurer could assume the role in June rather than July. She will provide training and mentoring in the weeks that follow. An e-mail announcement and call for candidates will go to the membership.

3. Meeting with the Director. Extensive discussion ensued over how President Roth should frame the topic of descriptive reports and the role of KSG. Separately, President Roth said he would ask whether the Director intends to fill the Deputy Director’s position after her retirement; how CRS management plans to use staff survey information in the months ahead; and whether there is a plan to fill open Senior Specialist positions.

4. Paper vs. Electronic Earnings and Leave Statements. President Roth summarized the results of a bargaining unit survey in which about 300 respondents were evenly split on a Library proposal to transfer pay and leave statements from paper to electronic media. As a next step, he will discuss the matter with the other Library unions to determine if CREA’s concerns are similar. After he reports back, the Board will decide whether to bargain independently.

5. A&P Grievance. President Roth said that CRS management had denied CREA’s assertion of a right to bargain the potential impact of publishing author e-mail addresses and phone numbers. The union will begin step two of the process by taking the grievance to Library management.

6. Office Support. President Roth suggested that each applicant be interviewed by a panel rather than by him alone. Governor Crocker moved that Steward Beaver, Vice President Moteff, and President Roth serve. Governor Smale seconded. The motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 1 p.m.

Royce Crocker
Julius Jefferson
Lisa Moscatiello
Jack Moteff
Dennis Roth
Bryan Sinquefield
Alison Siskin
Pauline Smale
David Smole
Mallary Stouffer