BOG Meeting Minutes — June 27, 2012

Print This Post Print This Post

1. Master Contract Update. Negotiations over the performance article remain stalled. Promotion and grievance articles are up next. Goal is to reach the last stages of mediation on these articles within 30 days.

2. Grievances. Settlement (a positive one for the employee) has been reached in one of the grievances the Board voted to take to arbitration. The Board is awaiting the recommendation of CREA legal counsel before voting on another pending grievance.

3. New Head of OIC Meeting. Kirk Rascoe has been named as the new head of the Library’s Office of Institutional Compliance. President R. and Vice Presidents J. and M. will meet with him on June 28. The Board may request a meeting as well if it chooses.

4. CREA Position on IFPTE Resolutions. Resolutions were circulated and discussed. Governor Rudman moved and Governor Reeder seconded that CREA concur with the caps on base per capita tax increases (i.e., dues increases) as spelled out in the IFPTE memo of April 17, 2012. The Board agreed with all other relevant resolutions except one concerning rebuilding of nuclear facilities; the sense of the Board was to abstain in this case.

5. Request to Participate in LC Mentoring. CREA received a letter from a Library employee asking if we wished to help support a proposed mentoring program for Library employees who may need extra assistance. The consensus was to pursue the idea further as more specifics become available.

6. Open Time. An incident involving significant unsanitary conditions in pre-packaged food received from the Library cafeteria’s distributor has been reported. No tainted food is believed to have reached the serving area. President R. will be meeting with Library officials. CREA will recommend that the Library be more transparent about this incident (and possible reports of others) in order to make employees aware and avoid the kind of rumors that are currently circulating.

Meeting adjourned at 12:30 p.m.


David Bradley
Phillip Brogsdale
Nancy Canales
Karma Ester
Sean Farrell
Chris Lewis
Jasmine Marcellus
Libby Perl
Brian Reeder
Dennis Roth
Abby Rudman
Linda-Jo Schierow
Bryan Sinquefield